a Church in Progress

October 17, 2007

In all the transition that has taken place in my life over the last 3-4 months, one of the biggest questions I’ve been asked is “What am I going to do once I become pastor?” “What’s your plan?”
This is certainly a valid question and has been addressed several times in light of nominating committee meetings and then leadership team meetings, and even through the questions of individuals.

Along with this, I’d love to share with you some of the transition decisions I’ve made as we’ve begun to head into a new era at Fellowship Church in Holden.  Feel free to share with me your thoughts.

I should start out by sharing the idea that Lonnie worked together for 6 years and through that time, he was one of the biggest mentors (and continues to be) in my life.  The church strategy we have put in place here at Fellowhsip wil be the strategy that stays in place, with a few minor canges for organization sake.  I need a bit more help organizationally,and to capitalize on that, I’ve been bringing more people into the mix.

One of the big questions I was frequently asked was whether or not I was going to have an assistant pastor at my side, just as I was Lonnie’s assistant.  The answer to this question is “no”.  In the place of me (and this really is not to boast), I’ll be putting in place 6 men or women who will lead people into a growing relationship with Jesus Christ in one of the following areas of our church:  Family Ministry, Operations, Small groups, First Impressions, Sunday morning programming, and Connection environments. 

These make up the bulk of what we will do as a church, and are the areas that we will focus on as we continue to grow.  One person (or even two) could not possibly be as effective as 7 people (this includes me) leading the way.  I personally have begun to train and work with and lead those 6 guys and we’re working together to begin this process before the year ends, and 2008 begins.  It’s a lot of work, but the people I have so far have done a great job moving us into this new era.

In order to effectively manage and coordinate the entire operations and to bring us as much teamwork as possible, we’re considering investing in this new church management software, called Fellowship One.  This will help to expand the organization and allow us to communicate, not only with one another, but everyone in our church very effectively.  I would appreciate any comments that my fellow pastor friends might have for me on this subject.

The other change in process is a “beefing up” of our small groups in the area of discipleship and service.  This is the core of our church, and we could stand to be more organized and intentional in growing disciples more effectively. 

So in a very brief nutshell, those are some of the things we are doing.  What do you think? 

By the way, a shout out to my bro, Dave Huey from Hotlanta!  What are you, 25 now?

Until next time…

Leave a Reply

