17 books I’ve read since August 1st

October 31, 2007

This morning I was getting ready for work and looking out the french doors which lead to trees in my back yard, when all of a sudden, hundreds of blackbirds flew down the trees onto the ground.  I instantly thought I was being attacked, and had thoughts of Alfred Hitchcock movies.  Nonetheless, I’m all right and live to share this tale with you, along with sharing with you the 17 books I have read since August 1st, complete with a bit of commentary about each.

Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone (Rowling)- I finally started reading these things.  The first one seemed a bit childish, but it came out all right and I really enjoyed it.

Made to Stick (Heath/Heath) – A great book on how ideas stick in people’s minds.

The Tipping Point (Gladwell) – Gladwell uses some great illustrations about how epidemics, both good and bad, become epidemics, and how popular fads and manias become popular.

Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets (Rowling) – Book 2 picks up the story a bit and this was the one that I read in one day.

The Deity formerly known as God (Stevens) – A remake of the classic by J.Phillips about misconceptions we have of the God of the Bible.

Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban (Rowling) – The first one that I couldn’t put down.  The 2nd one I couldn’t put down because I had nothing better to do that day.  It did take me longer than a day though.

The Leadership Pipeline (Charan/Drotter/Noel) – The book that caused me to take three looks back at how I approached ministry, although it has very little to do with ministry.

Sex God (Bell) – Our small group went through this incredible look at how spirituality and sexuality and relationship exists.

Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire (Rowling) – The longest book so far, and I’d seen the movie two weeks before I read it, and it was still amazing.  Say what you will about her subject matter, but this woman can write.

Execution (Charan) – A thoughtful dissertation on going beyond strategy in organization into the art of executing.

God’s Blogs -(Donahue) – You have to read this hilarious and wonderfully gifted writer point out what God would be writing about should he have one of these things.

Transormation (Roberts) – Some great insights on starting churches in your world.

The 5 Dysfunctions of a Team (Lencioni) – Teamwork:  The acting together of people to make a group successful and effective.  Read this book!

The 3 Signs of a Miserable Job (Lencioni) – Not quite as good as his previous book about teamwork, but its still a great read with good reasons why so many people, possibly including you, hate their jobs.

Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix (Rowling) – By this time I am so hooked to these books, and the writing just keeps getting better.  I was hooked on the “Left Behind” books too, but I realized without a doubt that the writing in those books were getting worse as time went on.  The longest of all the books.

Simple Church (Granger) – An excellent resource on why keeping church simple really beats adding all sorts of programs.  Fellowship Church, we will be keeping our ministry simple, and this book explains why.

Harry Potter and the Half Blood Prince (Rowling) – I just finished this one early this week while I didn’t feel well.  I was mesmerized and just love the characters, the plot,and the incredible detail she puts in her books.  Book 7, you are the last one to conquer,and I will conquer you!

So this is what I’ve read so far this year.  Currently I’m reading or getting ready to read “Soul Cravings” by McManus, “Playing for Pizza” by Grisham, and “Total Money Makeover” by Ramsey.

Please feel free to suggest any books you have ready that you think I should read.  I’d love to hear them. 

Until next time…

4 Responses to “17 books I’ve read since August 1st”

  1. Brian Howe Says:

    Great books man…I just read “the Starbcks Experiece” – good stuff. I love the 5 Dysfunctions of a Team…

  2. Katie Says:

    Very literary of you. I recommend Time Traveler’s Wife</i< for good character development, and The Wreck of the River of Stars for the best sci-fi I’ve ever read*.

    Those Harry Potters are fast reads, aren’t they? Even the fattest ones just zip by. Ian and I read the last one out loud in 18 hours (because we both wanted to read it first, and that way we could both do so. We felt very clever.)

    *That is saying something, trust me.


  3. I had just begun reading the Harry Potter books the end of the summer. I’ve finished the first 2 and am on the 3rd but haven’t got the time right now. I watch the movies after reading the books. Samantha is pleased that I’ve taken time to read her books!


  4. […] 20, 2008 I’ve been thinking about this book I read this summer/fall called, “The five dysfuctions of a team” by Patrick Lencioni. In it he […]


Leave a Reply

