What the “D” man taught me

November 7, 2007

This morning I’ve finished Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows, done about an hour’s worth of work on my computer, and now blogged, all from the comforts of where I’m staying at the moment.  Until this afternoon, Carie and I are staying in a home, watching 3 teens/children for their parents who are away for a few days.  We’ve been here since Sunday.

The moral of the story however, is that I finished the last Harry Potter book this morning.  I cried several times at some very intense parts, amongst them were when Severus Snape shared his memories with Potter, when Harry walked through the building after that scene toward his death and saw his friends grieving over the death of their loved ones, when Harry saw his family once again in the forest, and parts of his final conversation with Dumbledore.  Thank you to the many who encouraged me to read the series. 

One thing I took from it was something I have been thinking about for some time now.  It was the relationship between Dumbledore and Potter.  Current events and announcements not withstanding, I took some very valuable lessons from this relationhip that I hope you will allow me to share with you, and here they are:

*When a mentoring relationship is formed, there usually is one party that is considered really strong, and one that is considered weaker.  This is not a diss by any means,  reasons for this could be age, stage of life, or life’s circumstances.  But the sheer wisdom of “looking up to someone” usually comes from either a child-like faith or a realization that “I don’t know everything.”  In the case of Dumbledore and Potter, it was more of a childlike faith (I use that term loosely).

*Over time, we glean valuable insights and we begin to see the “normality” of those that we look up to.  This comes naturally the better we get to know the mentor.

*As we begin to grow in wisdom and more experience, combined with this newfound realization that our mentor is actually human, we being to question much of the advice and thoughts that they’ve planted into our minds.

*As in the case of Potter, and partly because of the personality the author gave him, he began not only to question, but also to grow bitter.  Of course, this happened to a teenager, which I can assume (and hae been through), is also natural.  This occurs simultaneously with his growth and maturity.

*If you are an adult, many times we simply question, then make a decision whether to stop this mentorship process or continue it.

*Ultimately along the way, we have this powerful choice, in many areas of our life, among them spiritually, emotionally, and financially, to lsten to sound advice and mentorship, or walk away from it because in some way, we know everything.

*One of the biggest lessons I’ve learned, mainly in my own life, but also in the Potter series, is that despite the humanity of those I place myself under (which also is my choice, specifically if I’m an adult), the point is not whether they are right or wrong.  Dumbledore was guessing much of the time, as he later admitted.  The point however, is that they’ve gone through certain scenarios of life that allow them to make the wisest decision (or guess) in other people’s lives.  Their advice is not always perfect, and their thoughts are not always correct, but there is a certain advantage to me laying aside what I might think is the best thing, for what someone I respect believes to be the right thing, regardless of who is right and who is wrong.

David, the shephard boy and future king in the Bible learned this lesson, when one of his “mentors” turned on him and began to attempt to do him harm physically.  Rather than overthrowing his leader, which he could have done, David chose rather to hide away and wait to see what God would do.

My hope for you and I would be for you to find someone who you look up to (not worship), and learn from them and their experience, and even when their advice is tough to take – take it.  Or at least don’t oppose it.

You have no idea at that point how much you will grow. 

Until next time…

One Response to “What the “D” man taught me”

  1. jeffsdeepthoughts Says:

    J.K. Rowling said that by the end of the series, we’d know where she stands spiritually… I’ve spent a while contemplating the “death and reseruction” of Harry Potter and wondering how it plays out theologically… It seems clear that Rowling’s trying to explore the cross. What do you think she’s trying to say?


Leave a Reply

