Lonnie was a dear sweet old man

November 8, 2007

I don’t have a lot of time today.  So this will probably be short, but I thought I need to say it anyway.  It is on my mind.  Before I do say what I am going to say however, I want to congratulate my Boston Celtics, for going 3-0 this year so far.  They absolutely crushed the Nuggets last night, and it looks like they are going to be the team to beat.  The Celtics are the only team in New England of which I am a fan, and they have been so bad the last few years that I’ve almost given up, but this year, it appears Danny Ainge did the job!  Also the title of this blog is a lure to read it.  It’s not really about him being a sweet old man.

Now back to the quick subject at hand.  This is for my church,Fellowship Church, which I believe is the greatest church of all time. This of course is my perception, and can certainly be debated, and if you are not a part of FC, please enjoy it anyway.  This is not an FC blog, this is a Marty blog.

Last Sunday was an amazing Sunday, and it appeared that the whole thing went so smooth, it was almost wierd. But there was an interesting dynamic that took place.  You see, there appeared to be a great atmosphere for the most part, but there were some that were almost expecting disaster.  I heard things like, “I think we can pull out of this rut we’re in,” and “Wow, (so and so’s) not here, I wonder if they’re mad.”  It was almost a sub attitude that went on, by some who are an important part of our church.

So I wanted to exhort each person in our church who reads this:  OUR CHURCH IS NOT FALLING APART!  The opposite is actually true, things are doing quite well.  I know we miss our old pastor, as do I, but we do him an injustice by acting like at any moment the world’s going to collapse.  Please trust me when I say that Lonnie knew what he was doing when he made this decision.  So if you liked him so much, then trust him and the end of that reasoning is trust me.

I know change is not easy at times, but I see good things happening to Fellowship in the future, if we don’t sabatoge that change with a desire for “what life used to be like.”  Our team is pumped about the future, and our desire is that you would get on board and really help us in leading people into a growing relationship with Jesus Christ.

I’m in!  Who’s with me?

Until next time…

3 Responses to “Lonnie was a dear sweet old man”

  1. nora Says:

    of course its not falling apart. we all know it fell apart months ago when the great tragedy struck. i am speaking, of course, about when i left. immeadiately after which my lifegroup disbanded, presumably out of sadness. dont blame yourself, marty.

  2. DKane Says:

    Marty – all I can say is that my family and I are soooo excited to see you up front where you belong. We love you and are proud to be part of FC. Don’t let anyone get you down, let them have their emotions and own them to themselves. It’s not about Lonnie and it’s not about you, it’s about God and what He’s doing. And I think He’s doing a pretty good job.

  3. jeffsdeepthoughts Says:

    Darn it! I was going to blog that we love you and are behind you! That wacky “Dkane” beat me to it!!! Now, I’ll have to think of something else.
    Uhhhmmm… I wonder how Lonnie feels about being called an old man in the title of this blog?

    Seriously, it’s so awesome to be on this journey. I’m so excited to see what God’s going to do next.


Leave a Reply

