Using the Golden Compass to move in.

December 11, 2007

Two things of note I’d like to share in my blog this morning.  I will give them to you first, and explain them second:

1.  We are 95% moved into our new home.

2.  I saw the film, “Golden Compass” on Sunday night.

Let’s start in the very beginning.  That’s a very good place to start. (“The Sound of music,” anyone?)  So yesterday, it was finally time for us to move into our new home.  The reconstruction is not quite done, however, with the sink being installed over the weekend, we had everything we needed to being mostly functional.  So on Monday morning, after finishing my blog, I began the process.

Carie and I don’t have tons of stuff, but we do have some, and so from 8:30 am to 10:30 pm, with a brief respite around lunch time and a conversation with Darren and Scott in the afternoon, I labored to move things from my old apartment (BNL, anyone?) to the new home.  Many of you know where I lived before, and perhaps you’re thinking,”He only has to move across a parking lot.”  But this was not just any parking lot, this was the Bank North Garden during a Bruins home game.  I slipped and slid all across the parking lot with large pieces of furniture like our bed, bureaus, and the occasional box of clothing.

Thankfully, Darren was able to help with the big stuff, and we couldn’t have gotten our bed up the stairs without help from Stevie B., but in the end there was just a lot of little stuff to move.  Carie arrived around 7:30 pm after a long day of work and a final exam at Woo State in Spanish Culture,and for the next 3 hours, we (Marty, Carie, and Jessica) worked tirelessly to at least be in the house overnight; a task we eventually accomplished.

On Sunday night, after the game (By the way, picture this:  Brett Favre beating the Pats in the super bowl.  What person in their right mind is gonna scowl at that?  It’s a wicked awesome thought.), I went with some friends to see, “The Golden Compass”.  I can honestly say, that it is exactly what I expected.  So please allow me to share with you my thoughts on the movie.

I had read an interview by the author of the books that I had found, thanks to Jenn’s blog, and really didn’t go into the movie with too many preconceptions about what I was going to see.  I am a pastor, and I know it’s been called a terrible movie because of its philosophy, but I’ve seen hundreds, and quite possibly thousands of terrible movies with bad philosophies, so I figured I’d just go into the theater with a clear mind.

Two thoughts come to mind:  No Likeability  and too spread out.  Let’s start with the latter, shall we?

The movie has all these things going on, and never really comes to a clear point. Even Lord of the Rings, as epic as it was, had a goal that it reached by the end.  And though this trilogy might have a goal (I don’t know), I could not figure it out.  It could have been saving the girl’s father, or taking down the Magisterium, a symbolic representation of organized religion, or just showing off Nicole Kidman as an actress, who knows?  Like Steve Martin said in the epic 1985 thriller, “Planes, Trains, and Automobiles”, “Here’s a thought, have a point, it makes it so much easier for the listener.”  Or in this case, the viewer. 

There was a lot of neat characters and lands and even ideas.  One of the things I enjoyed about the film, not unlike one of the things that the Potter books and films excel at, is the unique ideas the author and film crews employ to make the grander vision of the film work.  An example of this is the animals (called demons in the story, but actually a representation of the soul)that accompany almost every individual in the story.  For children, the animals change into different types of animals, depending on what the situation calls for.  As adults, however, the animals/demons stay the same.  How they use that thought in the movie is good stuff.

The second thing I didn’t like about the movie, that is almost found in every other fantasy movie ever made that anyone likes:  The likeability of the hero/heroine.  In this case the movie heroine is a little girl, possibly around the age of 11,named Lyra.  The first thing Lyra does in the movie is lie.  By the way, this is the 2nd, 3rd, and 4th thing she does too.  Basically Lyra is a little liar and schemer.

This is not a bad thing if she is a supporting actress or even if there is some sort of redemption that takes place in her life (though I doubt the author believes in that) by the end of the movie.  And maybe it will come later (Haven’t read ahead yet), but throughout the film, I just don’t like her.  The only endearing quality she shows is courage, but very seldomly does she use that trait to help someone else, though it does happen.

Listen, by the end of Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone, I was hooked, and Harry was my best friend too (sorry Ron Weasley).  But in the Golden Compass, I didn’t like anybody, not even by the end of the movie.  This, my friends, is a problem.

There’s only one reason I would go see this movie if I were you, and that is if I were a huge fan of the movie genre, “fantasy”.  Otherwise, you’ll never see that $10 again.  I don’t say that because “I don’t want you to see that stinking atheist film either,” but I say that to let you know that “enchanted” was a better movie than “The Golden Compass”. 

But is that because, as my wife pointed out,”McDreamy’s in it”?

Until next time…

4 Responses to “Using the Golden Compass to move in.”

  1. Katie Says:

    We should talk about this some time.

  2. Jenn Says:

    I’m getting here late, but thanks for the thoughts on the GC. I haven’t seen it or read the books, but I agree that there are plenty of other movies which are just as anti- or non-Christian as that, which no one makes any fuss about.

    If McDreamy is YOUR reason for preferring Enchanted, I’m a little nervous!😉


  3. […] December 22, 2007 With your help on Saturday, December 22, 2007, I returned to the gym.  […]

  4. Lucas Says:

    It sounds like a movie I’d like to see for the fantasy of it, but a lying scheming little girl is not really what I’d consider to be a heroine. I’ll probably wait until it comes out on DVD and rent it through Netflix. I’m grateful for a review that is uninfluenced by the “culture-war mentality” that plagues the church.

    (btw, I came here from the link you posted in the FB group)


Leave a Reply

