Top 10 (recorded) Christmas songs

December 13, 2007

Today in new England we’re about to get hit with a whole weekend of snow.  I believe this is connected with the lack of snow we’ve had before Christmas for the last two years, so we’re about to get crushed over the next 3 days.  This is not bad news.  But I am asking God to move the snow away from Sunday morning.  He hasn’t got back to me yet.

To commemorate this weekend, however, I will be sharing my fave top ten recorded Christmas songs with their respective artists.  I hope you enjoy them as much as I enjoy them.  But if not…you might be a scrooge.

10. All I want for Christmas is you. (Mariah Carey) – Listen, when she wrote it in 1994, I thought she was talking about me.

9.  Celebration (Mannheim Steamroller)  So classic. 

8.  Christmastime (Michael W Smith) – I used to stand in front of the mirror at college, and secretly mimic the fact that I was Smitty singing this Christmas tune in front of thousands.

7.  The Christmas Shoes (Newsong) – I love this song so much, it would be higher on the list, but I’m afraid you’d listen to it and start crying.

6.  Christmas is all in the heart (Steven Curtis Chapman) – I first heard this song in a log cabin in the backwoods of Georgia with light flakes of snow falling over a Georgia hillside.

5.  Christmas Time is here (Vince Guaraldi Trio) – I think of Charlie Brown.  I think of the Peanuts.  I think of presents. I think of Christmas.  And it’s all this songs fault.

4.  I celebrate the day (Reliant K) – The best Christmas song you’ve never heard of, because its from a punk band.

3. Baby, it’s cold outside (Dean Martin) – This song was so taken over by Will Farrell and his counterpart in the movie “Elf”.  But it’s a great one!

2.  O Holy Night (Sister Hazel) – One of the greatest combinations of all time, The story of Jesus and Sister Hazel.  Check out Hazel’s new album, “Santas Playlist” here.

1.  The Christmas Song (Nat King Cole) – This song.  Unbelievable.

Friends, enjoy the holiday.  My plea to you is to make the whole thing about Christ.  It’s not easy, but it will be worth it.

One Response to “Top 10 (recorded) Christmas songs”

  1. Jason Says:

    I respecfully list 3 really important omissions:

    Christmas Song: Dave Matthews Band
    God Rest Ye Marry Gentlemen: BNL & Sara McLachlan
    Happy Holidays: Andy Williams


Leave a Reply

