The decision

January 17, 2008

This is how I feel

Decisions that are the BEST decisions are not always the easy ones or the most convenient.  Sometimes good decisions are easy, but not as good as the best decisions.  When I first came to my present church in May of 1999, I decided that in any situation, as best as I could, I would put the best decision for the church ahead of the most convenient decision for me (I changed this slightly for marital purposes later on).

So when people would come to me and want to share their heart with me, but ask me to keep it in confidence, I would say (and I still say) that “anything you say is confidential, unless it places the church in any harm or risk, in which case it can no longer be just me, but others have to be involved, so now, feel free to tell me whatever you like.”  or…

If someone decided to bash someone (like a leader in the church) to me, I would respectfully tell the one venting that the best thing for them and for me is to talk to the person they are venting about, and that they need to do it quickly. Typically this never went over very well.

Now as I sit in the chair I sit as the lead pastor of this church, occasionally I have to make decisions that are hard, and not easy.  To be honest, sometimes it sucks.  Sometimes the best decisions are not the easy ones, but they are the best. (at least I pray they are)

I think on this topic as I think about the message for this week, the third in a series about our spiritual lives as Christ followers (or not) called, “The road”.  The easy part is not getting on that road.  Not making the commitment to Christ.  Not surrendering our will over to the God who created us. But that’s not the BEST decision.

The hard and the best decision comes after you’ve taken a step toward the grace of God through faith in Jesus Christ.  That’s where the journey gets difficult.  Wow!  My head hurts…and all this before lunch.

Until next time…

2 Responses to “The decision”

  1. billydotcom Says:

    Wow. Sounds like Sunday is going to be good. You often here people give the “I got Saved, now everything is roses” scenario. Which isn’t the case. The bible is quite clear that as Christ Followers we don’t have an easy road. Look at Paul. But I don’t think he would have exchanged his new life for his old life, or any other life for that matter.
    As usual I can’t wait for Sunday. And it doesn’t have anything to do with the Patriots Game at 3. Although That is exciting too.
    Billy

  2. jeffsdeepthoughts Says:

    Interesting. This seems related to the email you sent out this afternoon. And my answer to the question you posed isn’t too far from what you say here. (I posted my answer on my blog for anyone who cares)
    -Jeff


Leave a Reply

