I eat with people

January 18, 2008

fc1.jpg

I’m reading this book called”Never Eat Alone” which talks about the way to build relationships into win-win situations so that both parties can be better as a result of the relationships.  I’m constantly amazed at the number of Christians who use other people as an end game to get what they want.  To build a church.  To “get them” into their group.  Yet here is a book written for business people sharing the importance of relationships for business sake, and basically building a case for the Biblical model of relationships.

This is the lesson Im learning from this book and from my experience doing what it is I do:  Relationships are the most important thing.  In the context of the church or business, your life group or your focus group, when it comes to success, it should be based on the way people are growing relationally.

For a thousand and one years now (est.), people have used manipulation, smoothtalking, and condemnation in the church to get what they want.  But finally people are waking up to the idea that, more than a belief system and a series of thoughts to prove what I believe, is the idea that if I can’t love my family, I really don’t love God like I think I do.

I’m quite certain I’ve heard that before.  Somewhere.

Have a great weekend.  If you’d like to be added to my blog roll, email me at marty@fellowshipholden.com, and if I like you (just being honest. It doesn’t take a lot, but I should get to know you a bit first), I’ll put you on my blogroll family.  They’re all great people!

 Until next time…

2 Responses to “I eat with people”


  1. Thank you for writing about this book. I have tried to use the teachings of Christianity in my professional dealings, but I have found some Christians to behave in a most deplorable way. It seems that they were just using the idea of religion as a selling point, and not as a way to proceed with their lives, so I will give this book a read.

  2. pastormarty Says:

    No problem Frank! I’m glad I could be of help. Thanks for reading my blog.


Leave a Reply

