The Answer

February 1, 2008

The game was great last night.  I mentioned here that I was invited to the Celtics-Mavs game last night.  I of course had a decision to make.  The Celtics game was great, and Rajon Rondo was the hero in a 96-90 victory for the C’s.  This was an important victory for the Celtics, who had lost a few games to some mediocre teams in the last couple weeks.  And they did not disappoint.

However, I was not in attendance last night.  I chose to attend my life group. I love the Celtics like I love pizza, roller coasters, and any other of my several sports teams.  But I really love my life group.  Like I love my family.  Ya know, my mom, my dad, my sisters,etc…?  We had planned a special event of nothing more than hang out time, but I wanted to be there for it. 

You see, as much as I like the Celtics, they won’t be there for me if I have a family emergency or if I’m going through a hard time with any number of emotional, spiritual, or relational struggles, or if I just want to hang out with friends.  They might make for a good 2 hour event, and I’ll certainly go again if I’m asked in the future, but priorities are priorities and I’m committed to growing spiritually through the relationships in my life – not the least of which is this group that has been meeting together for the last year.

This weekend at Fellowship, we’ll be continuing our series on “The ATOM Bomb” by addressing the principle of Transformation.  I’m excited to share what I’ve learned in the last few years about this subject that I’m pasisonate about.

What relationships are transforming your life?

Until next time…

7 Responses to “The Answer”

  1. Ellen Says:

    Amen – I have been faced with choices like that before – sometimes I have made the wrong choice, sometimes the right one. I love my small group too.

    Thank you for such a wonderful post.

    Peace

  2. pastormarty Says:

    Thanks Ellen! I appreciate your comment. It’s very encouraging.

  3. davecross Says:

    Hey Marty, I’ve been reading your blog lately linked from Brian Howe’s blog. It’s good stuff. That was def a tough choice. I’m like you tho, as much as I love sports, my in-home small group is where it’s at.

  4. pastormarty Says:

    Dave,

    Thanks for checking out the blogs. I’ll check yours out too. Especially since you’re down with your small group.

  5. Rachel Says:

    You’re just saying that because I can potentially get you tickets to the Celtics Bulls game. hehe.

  6. jeffsdeepthoughts Says:

    You rock!
    I have actually been in suspense since reading your blog yesterday. You know I was going to give you grief if you chose sports over small groups!!!

  7. pastormarty Says:

    Rachel, nope, I hadn’t even thought about the Celtics Bulls game. But thanks for the hope!

    Jeffrey, the decision was the right one. Woohoo! And I know you would have busted on me. Oh, the persecution.


Leave a Reply

