To be friends or not to be friends…

February 6, 2008

First, I want to start you off with a wink. 

 Now, What do you do when someone vanishes from your life?  I don’t mean you lose touch with someone who lives 1,000 miles away.  I mean someone who’s in your life everyday, and decides to stay away for good. 

This is a typical happening in churches, and I’m baffled by the amount it happens.  One minute someone’s hanging out, the next, they can’t bare to give you a call back.  Or email.  Or even a simple facebook back.

I don’t blame anybody for this phenomona.  It is as much a person’s right to defriend someone than it is their right to befriend that same someone.  I just wonder what you might do about it.  To me, it used to hurt.  As time goes on however (and unfortunately), it gets easier.  Easier to forget the  neglect and the possible criticism.  Easier to blaim it on baggage.  But who can know all the reasons why someone makes a decision of abandonment?

Years ago, I made this really stupid decision and abandoned many of my friends based on this decision.  But this one family would not let me neglect them.  Would not let me forget them.  And they were always there for me.

Uuugh! 

If you have someone in your life who has “disappeared,” what is your response?  I’d like to know.

Until next time…

3 Responses to “To be friends or not to be friends…”

  1. Amber Says:

    I have someone like this in my life. They won’t answer my calls or emails and I don’t know why. I stopped calling, but when we are having a party or something at our house, i’ll send her a text message and she’ll actually respond to it that way. It’s very strange. I did leave her a message around christmas time. I just told her I hoped everything was okay and hoped that I had not done anything to hurt her. I think it’s strange, but I am not hurt like I maybe would have at an earlir time in my life. Okay, i said way too much!

  2. pastormarty Says:

    The truth is Amber, you and I just need to call each other to say hi!!! And it really should be me. I’m such a loser. But thanks for sharing that with us. Sorry you have to go through it.

  3. Amber Says:

    Yeah, we soo need to catch up! Email me your phone number, think you’ve gotten a new number since I’ve talked to you last!


Leave a Reply

