Tragedy in Missouri

February 8, 2008

So as you can see here, there was a bit of a problem in Missouri on Thursday night as a man who lived in the town decided he didn’t like the town officials or the mayor or several police officers and began to shoot anyone in his way.  Unbelievable story of a psychotic episode.

Here’s the story in a nutshell.

Man lives in small town.
Man probably gets mistreated by a few people, including cops, along the way.
Man goes to town meetings and complains, but is not a very good communicator.
Man gets made fun of and is prohibited from speaking in town meetings anymore.
Man takes it for only a short while and keeps it inside and begins to boil with hatred inside.
Man takes matters one Thursday evening into his own hands.
Town emergency.

There’s a lot to talk about concerning this story.  You could go into a discussion of guns or politics or psychotherapy, but I think I’ll leave it at this thought:

Does one person matter?

If a group of people get together for a town meeting, and ultimately decide to exclude from their meetings, one particular man, does that matter?

I’m not pretending to answer this question because there are so many answers.  I could say, “Yes, one person matters” and get hit with several responses on how the man was probably psycho and that he was disruptive to the future of the town, and so he needed to be excluded and that would probably be justified,

Or I could say, “No, we should think about the good of the town”and get hit with the importance of the individual, and that without the individual, the town would not be in existence, also a true and justified answer.

I only know this:  That for those people, in that time, one person did matter.

And for me, today, everyone I meet and talk to and who talks to me, matters. Because eventually that person will become part of my community.

What do you think?

Until next time…

One Response to “Tragedy in Missouri”

  1. Darren Says:

    I like how you end your blogs with questions.

    That’s what I think.

    Apparently I got ridiculously bored tonight to be reading your blog at 252AM. Obvioulsy I will be seeing you at ’10’ tomorrow morning.


Leave a Reply

