Are you laughing or crying?

February 21, 2008

picture-40.jpg
So there is this thing that happens to me from time to time that I thought you should know about.  It happens in the context of movies and only yesterday did I think it was wierd, because I did it in front of people – actual people who I know.

A few years ago, Carie and I went to see “The Notebook” at the theater.  Now I’m not one of those guys who don’t cry when it comes to movies.  Because I do.  A lot.  When Rudy makes the tackle.  When Bruce Willis as an astronaut father sacrifices himself for Ben Affleck as an astronaut son-in-law.  Four times when people die in Greenbow, Alabama, and on and on the list goes of times when I’ve cried at the movies.  Typically the stories of sacrifice are the ones that really get my eyes flowing like the Nile.

Anyways, back to my story.  Carie and I were in the theater and the the end of the movie “The Notebook” comes upon us.  Being a cryer in the theater, naturally I start to cry, however, I was not prepared for the amount that I was going to cry.  I started weeping, almost uncontrollably.  Not wanting to be embarassed by the amount of my tears, I adjusted my emotions and purposefully began to laugh, but the translation changed to uncontrollable laughter.  This made everyone else in the theater ticked off at me for my outlandish behavior.  Carie was not pleased.

So this week, Carie and I spent some time at some friends house for dinner and a movie.  For the evening movie, we decided on “Simon Birch“, a movie which everyone else in the room had seen except for yours truly, but they thought it would get me crying, so we decided to watch it.

At first, I could see where it was going and some small tears came to my eyes around the time when Ashley Judd died (Simon’s best friends mother) and other similar melancholy parts.  But then the end comes and Simon’s about to die,and he says,”I have to go now.”  And I lose it.

In front of my wife, and three friends, I start crying – uncontrollably.

And of course I adjust my crying to laughter, and that too, becomes uncontrollable.  Then everyone else in the room begins to laugh uncontrollably (also while they are crying).  And it’s just this wierd dynamic in the room at this point, that we should all be sad, but we’re all laughing hysterically.

I love to hide my emotions.  Sometimes this does not translate well.

By the way, I would love to see you this afternoon check my new vlogs out.  Here’s one for your personal enjoyment.

Until next time…

2 Responses to “Are you laughing or crying?”

  1. jeffsdeepthoughts Says:

    Inapropriate movie reaction almost changed my life. On one of our first dates, Kiley and I got the bright idea to see some random horror movie. I think it was called “Copy Cat” It had one of the Judds, or Harry Connick Jr., or maybe both of them. I don’t remember.
    Anyway, creepy serial killer man used computer animation over a corpse to make it do something silly in a recording.
    I found it hillarious– but it was partially laughter to cover up the creeks, you know? (Honestly, it was partially just because it was funny, too.)
    Anyway, this profoundly disturbed my then-girlfriend, now wife. I think she actually began to rethink the whole relationship with laughing boy-thing.
    Anyway, brother, I feel your pain.

  2. David Huey Says:

    speaking of first date movies
    i dont recommend borat
    yep, thats what i took Cherie to see… I’ll never hear the end of it


Leave a Reply

