The last shot, part 2

February 26, 2008

So I decided to write the story and show a different video this afternoon. 
So here’s the end of “the last shot.”

As you might recall, the ball was inbounded with 6.1 seconds left.  I grabbed the ball thinking that I would dish it off and decided instead to heave it to the basket from about 4 feet past the 3 point line.  It fell just short, clanging off the rim, and I ran towards the ball.  The ball flew toward my teammate Tim, who was guarded on all sides, and threw it back to me.

I shot the ball, and the ball fell through the hoop without even the slightest of touch to the metal.  If the net had a wider mouth, it would have gone through without touching the fabric too.  We jumped up in celebration.  And I was a hero once again!

But my foot had been on the line.  Which meant that the shot did not count for three points, it counted for two points.  And we lost 41-40.

So enjoy this video.  It’s 5 minutes, and you have to watch the 5 minutes to get the full effect, but I do admit that I laughed as hard as I’ve laughed in a while.  Thanks to Ragamuffin Soul for sharing this with me and his readers.  The funny thing is that I’ve sat under preaching that’s not too different from this.  Amazing!  Enjoy and have a great night!

4 Responses to “The last shot, part 2”


  1. […] Until next time… Posted by pastormarty Filed in sports and fitness Tagged: basketball, the last shot […]

  2. David Says:

    dude.. that was hilarious
    that should be your next message:
    “at Fellowship, our men piss standing up! Our Bible talks about pissing standing up! And if you don’t like it – you can get the heck out!”

    ps. i especially like that looooooooooong tie

  3. pastormarty Says:

    Great sound byte Dave. This will be our new slogan!

  4. David Says:

    crowder picked up on this today:
    http://weblog.xanga.com/emprise34/645416277/him-that-pisseth-against-the-wall.html

    ps. i am still not on your bogroll.. jerkface


Leave a Reply

