The SEC and the Mac

February 27, 2008

Last night watching American Idol, like many of you did, I came upon this commercial about the Macbook Air:

I started thinking about all the Mac products, of which I only own an ipod, and the genius of the products and marketing.  You’re probably already thought or read about what the Mac is doing right, but I thought I’d offer my two-sense this morning in looking back, not only at this commercial, but at all the products they are putting out now.

I’ll use the SEC to help me out as I explain what I like about their product marketing.

S = Simple
This is the genius of today’s best marketing ads, and there’s probably nobody better than Mac.  With the letter i, they have transformed culture. 
They all work together with amazing consonance, yet each of them are simple, and easy-to-use.  This process not only occurs in their products, but in their marketing as well. The shape of a woman dancing and listening to headphones in vibrant color.  A cool “regular joe” on the same white screen with a big nerd, while the whole world watches on.

So simple, yet so genius.

The only complaint I’ve heard is by my friend Clay who spent almost a half hour of my life once telling me the evils of itunes not being compatible with other music programs, so you pay for the music, but only as long as your computer of mp3 player exists.  But that’s another argument.

E = Excellence
To be quite honest, I have yet to see a bad Mac commercial.  If you have, feel free to let me know, but as of yet, I haven’t seen it.  And while I’m sure that someone reading this has bought some sort of faulty equipment from Apple, as a rule, I’ve heard only good things about Mac products, from the Ipod to the IMac to the IRack

C = Coolative (this word makes me thirsty)
The design on Mac products are the stuff of greatness as well.  If it wasn’t, everyone, churches included, wouldn’t be following Mac’s as if they were gods.  So I’ve made up this word that explains the C and of course mixes up two other words.

Cool.  Mac is cool.  It’s the cool of today.  Tomorrow something better could and will come along, but today – today it’s the coolest.  It’s so cool by the way, it reminds me of that skit that Eddie Murphy did back in the 80’s when the cabbage patch kids were so “cool”. He played “Mr Robinson’s Neighborhood” and he was trying to sell a doll for $50 by taking the babys head off and sticking a head of cabbage on the doll.
Feel free to stick a once bitten apple on your computer and make a million!

Creative. There’s something about the Mac products and commercials that are cool, but one of the reasons that is true is because everytime I see one, it not only is the product of today, but it presents itself as the product of tomorrow.  Polished.  Shiny.  Retro. Slim.  Yet Simple.  These things are not just today’s products, but they look like tomorrow’s too, as can be witnessed by the commercial above.

I’m certainly not a marketing genius, and I don’t own stock in Apple either.  I’ve just become a fan over the last 5 years of things simple, excellent, and coolative.  Can you blame me?

I’m also going to try to post this blog on Randy Elrod’s Watercooler Wedneday.  never done it before, but it seems pretty interesting!

Until next time…

picture-44.jpg

5 Responses to “The SEC and the Mac”

  1. Steve Jobs Says:

    For the new Macintosh fan, it is Mac not MAC. In the computer world MAC means Media Access Control, not Macintosh.

  2. pastormarty Says:

    Thanks Steve. Correction made. And by the way, if you’re ever out in Boston, let’s hang out.

  3. Aaron Says:

    Whoa, whoa, whoa… No need for the name change! “Mac” as “MAC” was an excellent and cleverly worded pun I only now come to realize was an innocent mistake by the author. After all, *the* Southeastern Conference and *the* Mid-American Conference are two prominent Division I college sports conferences in the NCAA. And we are approaching the climax of the college basketball season. I can understand the technical confusion of making “Mac” all caps, but from a writer’s point-of-view (and the casual college sports fan) it was comic gold. This decent article went down in cool points due to a title change.😉

  4. David Says:

    i agree w/ aaron – even though I’m a proud mac owner ( and i wont use this opportunity to tell you everything good about the mac as i really want to )
    the first thing that popped in my head was the SEC vs MAC conferences.. and we all know the SEC is superior to all
    (in football – the only sport that REALLY matters)

  5. Randy Elrod Says:

    Marty,

    great post. i am very impressed that Steve Jobs read your blog. Nice.

    Thanks also for joining us at the watercooler today. If you don’t mind, please change the link in your post to:

    http://randyelrod.typepad.com/ethos/
    2008/02/watercooler-wed.html

    instead of http://www.randyelrod.typepad/ethos

    this will help in the entire Watercooler process.

    Thanks again. Please bring a friend to join us at the watercooler next week.

    Randy


Leave a Reply

